1001 Movies You Must See (Before You Die) Video

This is amazing. I just had to post this, this video is that good.

You may have seen it making the rounds of the internet recently. I was introduced to it from Roger Ebert’s website (to anyone who read my last post, you may realise that I like that website. A lot), and have been watching it over and over again. I’d recommend watching it straight. Away.

 

What I love about it is how neat and perfect it is by itself: it is so well edited, the music is suited to each scene and with only one exception the transitions are flawless (I’m thinking between Ceasers’ ‘Jerk It Out’ and Skrillex‘s ‘Bangarang’). It is a piece of art in its own right and the movies it uses – while brilliant – are not what make it so good. That is quite an achievement.

My favourite part? The Monty Python clip at the end. It would have been the perfect end clip if the perfect end clip didn’t already exist in the final scene from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

This 10 minute movie mash-up may be the best film I have seen all month. What did you think?

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

