The story behind my ‘cover photo’

After a pretty heavy post last Wednesday I thought I’d do something a bit lighter and explain my ‘cover photo’ (what has Facebook done to me? I literally cannot think of anything else to call it).

Almost a year ago my sister and I travelled to Marrakech, Morocco for a week long holiday. Due to work commitments, and the little money available to students, one week was all that was available to us. The majority of the other travellers we met were on world exploration journeys, or passing through on their way to other exotic destinations. On a sidenote, many of those on long-term travels were Americans and Australians who were taking a ‘once in a lifetime journey’ as Europe and North Africa is quite a distance to travel for them. I have never appreciated the proximity to other countries offered by living in Europe more.

We went to Essaouira for a day trip to escape the heat. At 28ºC it was a welcome relief from the temperatures of Marrakech.

This was not an expensive holiday. We flew with EasyJet. We stayed in a hostel (albeit the awesome Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge). Overall, including flights, accommodation, food, two day trips and spending money we spent under £250 each. You can’t argue with that. If anyone is looking for an inexpensive break this summer to somewhere a little bit different, I recommend Marrakech. Just keep in mind the inescapable heat, with temperatures reaching 50ºC when we were there, and Ramadan in July, though we were told tourists aren’t expected to fast.

Edit

So, the picture. It was in our room at the hostel, hanging over my sister’s bed. She wasn’t a fan, but I really liked it, which might seem odd as there’s nothing that remarkable about it. What I really liked was the facial expressions of the two kids: he looks so impressed with himself and happy about his clothes as they’re both dressed up for something fancy. She on the other hand just looks so unimpressed with him, judging him a slightly sarcastic way. I just thought it was funny and sweet, and took a picture as a memory. It has now ended up on the top of this blog.

It wasn’t my first choice as my header but it just looked better than every other photo I tried. I first went with scenic shots, but this just seemed to frame nicer and fit better, at least for me. Like the little boy I’m feeling good about the layout: feel free to sarcastically judge!

One thought on “The story behind my ‘cover photo’”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

