Day 1: Best book you read last year

A Good Walk Spoiled by John Feinstein

IMG_20140603_120330683

I’m taking last year to mean 2013, which is also going to be remembered by the year we had the house-move from hell. During the process, however, I was able to read this book on golf. While that doesn’t sound that interesting unless you’re a golf enthusiast, Feinstein is able to turn golf from a seemingly dull sport, and demonstrates it can be thrilling and, psychologically, very difficult. My favourite sections were on Q-School, or qualifying school, which showed how golf is a brutal game to compete in when you’re starting from the bottom. This renewed admiration for golfers, a result of Feinstein’s evaluations of specific players, makes this book a really interesting read.

Note: I haven’t had the chance to read as much as I would like to have in the past 3 years as university has been eating away my time (and my soul). However, one book that I was tempted to put here but resisted was a book I had to read for my course. I would definitely recommend Just and Unjust Wars by Michael Walzer – it explores some very interesting issues about the ethics of combat.

If you’re missing your film-fix, check out Dreams From the Mind. It’s all about film and fashion, a combination of opinions and reviews.

Also, for those who are interested, I’m on Instagram and Twitter.

One thought on “Day 1: Best book you read last year”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

