Day 8: Most overrated book

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

Slaughterhousefive

Maybe it is because I idolise Catch-22 and read ­Slaughterhouse Five as the lesser of the two (perhaps unfairly). Maybe, to a lesser extent, it is because the book is so short that I didn’t feel there was enough to warrant such praise (but my love for The Great Gatsby and Animal Farm works against me here). I don’t even know for sure, but I just did not understand the hype that surrounds S5, so much so that I feel I’ve completely missed the point of the book, or something. I just didn’t, and still do not, understand why people rave about it, and given its reputation I feel bad for saying that. However, for me it was overrated.

So, bring it on. Why was I wrong?

Image credit: Wikipedia

If you’re missing your film-fix, check out Dreams From the Mind. It’s all about film and fashion, a combination of opinions and reviews.

Also, for those who are interested, I’m on Instagram and Twitter.

One thought on “Day 8: Most overrated book”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

