Day 9: A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

IMG_20140603_120554592

When I was younger I avoided Jane Austen books like the plague. I had been told they were all about love and romance, and I was far more interested in action and fantasy to pay them any attention. Turns out that people forget to mention that Austen was actually really funny. That sense of humour is the main reason, at least for me, that Pride and Prejudice is so good; never mind that Mr Darcy is so dreamy. That, and Elizabeth Bennet. Lizzie is so funny and self assured – she knows what she wants, and to marry someone she would despise is not it. She is such a strong female character, something that can be rare now, never mind in the 19th century, when the book was written. If someone had told me that Pride and Prejudice was a comedy with a brilliant main character, and a romance that would make me giggle at the same time as swooning then maybe I would have been looking forward to the book a lot more. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised.

Note: the humour of Jane Austen is something that I think Joe Wright’s version of Pride and Prejudice gets right. It’s a funny film, whereas most Austen adaptations focus too much on the romance for my liking.

If you’re missing your film-fix, check out Dreams From the Mind. It’s all about film and fashion, a combination of opinions and reviews.

Also, for those who are interested, I’m on Instagram and Twitter.

One thought on “Day 9: A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

