Day 10: Favourite classic book

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

IMG_20140603_120803464

My first (and currently only) Dickens book that I have completed, read from beginning to end. It’s a beautifully written book, which is what I like about Charles Dickens – for me, his plotting is secondary to the way he has with words. The novel is made by it’s closing speech, but there is much to admire along the way. He can create an incredible atmosphere, painting a scene vividly with his description. You feel like you’re there. This may have been down to him wanting to fill up space – he was writing for a magazine, and being paid by the issue – but that doesn’t bother me as I find his prose to be truly stunning.

If you’re missing your film-fix, check out Dreams From the Mind. It’s all about film and fashion, a combination of opinions and reviews.

Also, for those who are interested, I’m on Instagram and Twitter.

One thought on “Day 10: Favourite classic book”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

