Day 17: Favourite quote from your favourite book

Quote from the last chapter of A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

IMG_20140603_120803464

“It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.”

(Slight spoilers ahead.)

Not my favourite book overall, but my favourite classic so it counts, right? (Right?)

Is it an obvious choice? Maybe. But it moved me; it is so beautiful. It conveys so much hope, despite it being the end of someone’s life, despite it being their dying thoughts. The simple elegance of how the sentence is structured, combined with the acknowledgement of how honourable such actions are just make this quote the best part of the book for me (as I said when I declared AToTC my favourite classic). Charles Dickens can produce some incredible prose. The quote is just beautiful; there is no other word for it.

One thought on “Day 17: Favourite quote from your favourite book”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

