Day 18: A book that disappointed you

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

IMG_20140603_120854155

After not expecting to enjoy Pride and Prejudice or Persuasion and doing just the opposite, after really liking the Ang Lee film adaptation of this book, and from hearing a friend declare this was her favourite Jane Austen novel, I was ready to really enjoy Sense and Sensibility. Instead I found a book I had to struggle to get through, and I didn’t feel all that satisfied with by the end. I usually like the stories of Jane Austen, and though I can get annoyed by the supporting characters (as is to be expected) I usually really like the main character. Eleanor Dashwood, however much I like her practicality, was an exception to this rule: it was her dislike of many people who were kind to her and treated her well that grated for me. I did not dislike her as a whole, just certain elements. But after Anne Elliot and Lizzie Bennet, I suppose I was expecting more. For once the film outshines the book for me.

Runner up: The Shadow of the Wind – if you say someone is going to die don’t cop out by having them die ‘temporarily’. So frustrating.

One thought on “Day 18: A book that disappointed you”

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

