Film of the Week: Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter… and Spring

SPRING, SUMMER, AUTUMN, WINTER … AND SPRING
Film 4, Thurs 23rd October 1.45am

Credit: Wikipedia

Film 4 have got quite the line up this week: Hugo, Inglorious BastardsCalamity Jane among others. Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter… and Spring is slotted into this busy schedule with a late night viewing but is not to be missed, despite the late – or should that be early? – showing. I watched this film in an ongoing (and, as of yet, unfinished) challenge to view all of IMDB’s Top 250 films. It wasn’t what I was expecting.

This South Korean movie (subtitled) is set on a floating house in the middle of a lake. The story is split into 5 parts, starting with an elderly monk taking in a young child, and spans the length of the young boy’s life. It’s not fast paced, nor action packed, but it is beautifully filmed and very intriguing. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot – it is a film that should be watched without knowing too much about it beforehand I believe. The story – which covers love, redemption, death and life, plus more (light, no?) – confuses you, yet draws you in without you realising it. I hope you give it a go: it’s worth a watch.

Note: This was a difficult one for me because I was torn between this and Hot Fuzz (ITV2, Fri 24th October 9.00pm), my favourite comedy. But I figured that everyone would have (should have) seen it. If not, what have you been doing with your life? Essential viewing.

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

