My Favourite Episode: 30 Rock

MILF Island

Credit: Wikipedia

I LOVE 30 Rock. Just writing about it has caused a 30 Rock binge – I will not apologise. Alec Baldwin has just fantastic comic timing, and Tina Fey never fails to make me laugh; these two are the centre of the show and their on-screen chemistry is insane, I could laugh at them forever. The first two seasons of this genius show are some of my favourite television ever made, and so this made picking a single episode really difficult. In the end I went with ‘MILF Island’ (very closely followed by ‘Tracy Does Conan’), an episode so crazy, and so funny, that it just demands a rewatch (and a rewatch, and a rewatch…).

Some 30 Rock background: MILF Island is a fictional television show on NBC, and what I love so much was that it wasn’t a fictional show that came out of nowhere, arriving just for that episode – earlier in the season Jack mentions it being a hit summer replacement show (along with America’s Next Top Pirate, a show I am personally dying to see).

‘MILF Island’ the episode is set during the fictional finale, and everyone, bar Liz, is dying to see who wins. Unfortunately for the writing staff of TGS, they are unable to watch the show because Jack is on a manhunt: someone on the TGS staff gave a quote to a gossip columnist, saying that Jack “was a Class-A moron”, and he wants to find out who it was, and has enlisted Liz to help him.

The episode gives me everything I need from 30 Rock: twists and turns, a lot of Jack and Liz interaction, Kenneth truth bombs, the rest of TGS having Tracy pull them into a Lord of the Flies parody, Liz flirting (badly), and a hell of a lot of whimsy and craziness. It also has Tina Fey pulling diabolical faces – the world needs more of that just in general, in my opinion – and it makes fun of reality TV. What more could you ask for?

Diabolical Liz Lemon. Credit: Serial Mente

My sister and I are always trading Youtube clips from 30 Rock. It’s genius. ‘MILF Island’ is 30 Rock on top form, at the height of it’s game. For me it’s the best episode: what about you?

Agree? Disagree? Tell me below!

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.

