USA in Photos

America is really photogenic. The National Parks, instantly recognisable icons, busy streets and empty, stunning scenery on the side of the highway. It’s all so beautiful that there is a dilemma whether to just take in the views or spend the time capturing it on film. My one month trip to America (post-camp) was broken up nicely as pre-car crash and post-car crash: our car was written off in Las Vegas. Following the crash, I bought a new memory card for my camera, so I also have pre- and post- crash pictures.

I don’t really know what my aim is when I take pictures. Sometimes the photos are captured for this blog, or because the views are incredible and I just want to remember it. Other times they’re for Instagram, and sometimes because they are just funny pictures. But I am not an expert photographer, nor do I intend to be.

Anyway, that is a roundabout way of saying these are some pictures from my travels round America post-car crash.

DSCF2561
The Hoover Dam.
DSCF2589
Grand Canyon.
DSCF2791
A New Orleans cemetery, from the outside.
DSCF2726
On the train, welcome to Yazoo City.

DSCF2768

A church in New Orleans.

DSCF2741
Go Greek at Loyola University, New Orleans.
DSCF2626
Flying the flag at the Grand Canyon.
DSCF2810
Near the market in the French Quarter of New Orleans.
DSCF2816
A criminally beautiful Forever 21 in Washington D.C.
DSCF2890
“Reporting from outside the White House…”
DSCF2923
Work being done on the Capitol Dome.
DSCF3011
The Jefferson Memorial and Washington Monument on the Potomac River.
DSCF3082
A beautiful quote in D.C.’s Holocaust Museum.
DSCF3133
On the banks of the Hudson River.
DSCF3193
Which bridge over the Hudson? I don’t know – maybe Brooklyn!?
DSCF3152
A little boat just doing its thing.
DSCF3260
Need I say? The Statue of Liberty, baby.

If you like these there are more on myĀ Instagram.

Do like taking photos when you travel? Why do you take yours?

Thoughts? Feelings? Let me know.